So excited about growing…

Today I was listening to “the nines” pastors conference for most of the day and I was able to catch alot of great information. One of the sessions that I remember the most, was one that focused on growing. I believe the pastor said: Our staff has the choice to Grow or to Go!

They take growing serious!

I remember when I was young and I would go to my Granparents house where they had a door in the hallway that I would back up to, to measure myself to see how much I had grown. I would get so excited about growing. I remember sometimes my legs would hurt really bad, and my mom would say that it was “growing pains”. I am not sure how true that was or was not, but I know that it made the pain worth it.

I knew that the next time I went to Grandmas house, I would be a little taller. Well, around the age of 18 I stopped growing. I have gone over to my Grandmas house several times since then and many times I will still walk up to the door while no one is looking and I will put my finger on top of my head and measure myself, but each time I am at the same mark.

I think that there are far too many pastors living week to week without growing. To be honest, I have no clue how they can get in the pulpit every week, without growing their mind with more and more information.

My desire is to continue to grow every year, and every month, and every week. I plan to grow by reading books, investing into relationships with people who already are where I want to go, and by absorbing information and experience from anywhere I can get it.

The only thing that has changed since I was a child in regards to my desire for growth is that then I wanted to grow physically, now I desire to grow spiritually, mentally, and in leadership abilities.

Leave a Reply

