A Refreshing Day… WITH TEENAGERS?!?!

Well if you were to ask a hundred adults how they would want to enjoy a  refreshing day, I bet none of them would say that they want to enjoy a refeshing day with almost 20 teenagers. Believe it or not, today I did just that. I know, it may be hard to believe, but I spent the day (from 10:00am – 5:30pm) with almost 20 teenagers and I had such a great time.

We decided to make MLK Day an activity to hang out with each other instead of sleeping in until 3:00pm.

The day started with a couple board games, then we went outside and played a huge game of basketball. After that we had lunch, then we talked about some exciting plans for our youth ministry for about an hour. After that, we went outside and played football for a while and then we came in and “Jammed” to some awesome music.

It was definitely an action packed day, which might make you wonder how I could call that refreshing. Well, the fact is, it was not physically refreshing, but spiritually and emotionally refreshing. I was able to spend the day with several great teenagers! They were so much fun to be around. We spent time talking about what we can to to make our youth group even better. We spent time learning some new things on the guitar and piano. We even spent some time recruiting a few teenagers into the Church Orchestra! (Yay! Jessica!!!)

It was such a delightful day!

It makes me wonder… WHY IN THE WORLD IS IT SO HARD TO FIND YOUTH WORKERS?!?!?!?!

God has truly blessed our church with some sharp teenagers and they are in some of the most important decision making days of their lives. I would think that if there were people who want to make a difference in someones life, that I would have a waiting list of workers trying to get in to work with the teenagers. But instead, I am with the teenagers each week, alone… Did you get that? 35 teens and one adult. Think about the impact that our church could have on teenagers, with just a few more adults. I am praying that God will provide some adults that want to get involved with some teenagers to encourage them and edify them in the Lord during some of their most difficult days…

Here are a few misconceptions that I believe keep people away from serving in the youth ministry.

1. Teenagers have bad attitudes.

Maybe your teenagers have bad attitudes, but honestly, most teenagers don’t. See, when my 2 year old son is around his mommy and I, the kid can be really naughty!! Seriously, but as soon as he is somewhere else, with someone he is not as familiar with, he magically turns into an angel. That doesn’t change when they become teenagers… Ok, well maybe they aren’t angels, but they do not hate everyone all the time. The way to get past the apparent attitude is to build a relationship with them… By the way: You are probably the same way, you are a little bit friendlier and warmer to the people who have formed a relationship with you.

2. Teenagers think that they are too cool for me.

No they don’t. They are so insecure that they ACT like they think they are too cool for you, but inside they know that they are not. What they need is someone who will build and edify and love them (unconditionally). If they are receiving the encouragement that they long for, once again, the walls will come down.

3. It is the Youth Pastors Job to reach our teenagers.

Wrong again. Sorry, but it is not. God says that it is the parents job, so parents… come get involved. I often hear the excuse that, “my teenagers don’t want me around them and their friends.” If they don’t want you around, there is probably a reason… Fix it! Stop nagging them, or getting on to them about being silly… Major on the majors and minor on the minors.

My parents weren’t perfect, but somehow… they were cool! And my friends loved having them around! Be cool Mom and Dad!  (not weird… that is embarrasing) Get involved!

4. I could never teach a lesson to teenagers!!!

You don’t have too!!  Ralph Waldo Emerson said: “Who you are speaks so loudly I can’t hear what you’re saying.” Many times, they are not listening anyway… they are watching… Be the real deal and it will rub off. That is better than any preaching you or I can ever do!

5. Teenagers don’t want to talk to me.

Yes they do… they are just insecure! So, stop being insecure yourself, and GO TALK TO THEM!!!!

6. I don’t know how to get involved.

I am so glad you asked… see the nearest youth pastor TODAY!!! and sign up! Get involved as soon as possible! Seriously! If you put it off, then you will forget about it and your youth pastor will continue to be all alone week by week! What a refreshing time you are missing out on!!! Get involved today!!!

8 thoughts on “A Refreshing Day… WITH TEENAGERS?!?!

  1. I was loving it – so involved in reading it – Then I got sidetracked by hearing I was cool… (And I know, sometimes embarrassingly weird!… and can still be…)

    A Youth Pastor & Youth Workers leave an impression many times over in the lives of teens – not because of the specific things said – but because they take the time to care… Thank You Dennis Jennings and Wendy Correll… and Betty Booth and Grey & Sherry Correll! I don’t remember a thing you all said – but I know you all cared! Oh, the fun times we had! And my children and grandchildren benefit for the Glory of God! HALLELUJAH!

  2. Read this again today, Lee!!! Thanks for the encouragement!!! I’m so excited for Atomic Bonds tomorrow night 🙂

    1. Wow! I read that a few months back. I am very excited to serve our Lord with this wonderful group of people. I am also honored to work with these teenagers at Suncoast.
      Thanks for the challenge!

  3. Looking forward to starting something new with the youth group (and myself). Let’s see if we can set an example for the rest of the church see and to follow! Here WE go – FULL STEAM AHEAD!!

  4. Me too Pastor Lee…

    Excited and praying that God will help me to be one person on someones list many years from now….because I cared to take the time for them…I’m ready to SHINE! And help others to SHINE TOO!

  5. Thanks for the encouraging word. Sometimes when we are stretched it is intimidating … but when we push through we always feel a sense of accomplishment. I am looking forward to getting stretched and having the chance to impact lives !!!

Leave a Reply

