Role Reversal

I remember being a kid, and like the Waltons, every night my sister and I would go through our “goodnight routine”.

“Goodnight mom, goodnight dad, see you in the morning mom, see you in the morning dad, I love you mom, I love you dad, sweet dreams mom, sweet dreams dad”, and if we were extra desperate to stay up a few more moments we would take it to the level of… “I hope you have a good day tomorrow mom, I hope you have a good day tomorrow dad…” An so on.

Tonight after I played with Will, after we read a book (on my iPhone) and after we said out prayers together, I walked back to my bedroom and yelled back to Will, “night night buddy” to which I heard the reply of his beautiful soft voice, “night night daddy”.

It is amazing how time has allowed a complete role reversal in this part of my life. I am so excited about it. I am excited about learning to be the best Dad I know how to be, I am excited about leading my son to love the Lord. I am so thankful that God has given me this privilege of raising such a great young man.

I read today: “the only thing that God can use to make a Great man is a young boy.”

There is so much potential in that little Elmo bed in there, and I am blessed to be a part of it. Thank You God for my wife, my son, and our new child on the way. Help me to lead them to follow you!

Lee Tomlin
7/20/2010
10:57pm

2 thoughts on “Role Reversal

  1. Pastor,
    That was so sweet…my goodness, Your family is so blessed.
    We are blessed as well, to have you lead our children too! For that we love you….Good night Pastor, my friend!

Leave a Reply

