No Resolution Yet? It’s not too late!

I have read several great blogs over the last few days that have challenged me in several different ways. The main debate that has been on my mind over the last few days is to make a resolution, or to not make a resolution. In other words, what goals and challenges will I set for myself over the next year. I have asked several people this week to name a few goals that they have set for the next year, and suprisingly almost everyone that I had spoken with had not made any resolutions yet. One blog that I read about yesterday talked about how in the Bible,  Daniel made a resolution at the beginning of his book, and the rest of his story is history. Daniel is known as a faithful follower of the Lord, and it could be traced back to one resolution that he made. You can read that great post HERE. Well, because of that blog and a few others that made it clear that there is not a rule that states that resolutions must be in stone by the time the ball drops at midnight, I have decided to take some time over the next week and really ask God what some of my goals should be for the next year. I already know a few, but I am going to use the next week to write down some specific things to increase my effectiveness in serving the Lord and my family in 2011.

Here are a few things that I already plan to do:

Scripture Memory, both on my own, and with Ron Edmondson on his blog HERE

Blog more often by applying what I read yesterday on these two blogs,  HERE and HERE

Attempt to accomplish 27 credit hours this year on  my graduate work.

FIT Triathlon May 14th

More to come!

What are some of the things that you plan to accomplish this year? Please comment some of them, maybe you will give me more ideas! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “No Resolution Yet? It’s not too late!

  1. Hi Lee,
    I’ve resolved to read through the Bible again this year… and as Billy Graham said, “I would have traded “doing some things for studying the Scriptures more.” I need to sharpen my use of my sword.

    and as two books I’ve read lately – I wanna live Radical Faith and Crazy Love!

    and be more respectful of others.

    :o)

  2. I think I may write about this subject on my blog….My hang up on New years resolution/goal isn’t with the goal itself, but it is with the fact that we magically make them January 1. if we don’t have goals throughout the year that is bad thing. We really should always be striving for goals. If it helps mentally don’t set your goals January 1, set them March 2nd every year, or do it every 6 months. I like your goals though. Some I have been working on are: manage my time better, build “growth activities” into my schedule (spiritual, leadership, family, and marriage), act and not react, and spend less time on facebook (I am kind of addicted) Thanks for the post man!

    1. Thanks Michael,
      what is an example of a growth activity? I agree with you that it doesn’t have to be January 1, it is just a good time to reflect on the last year, and then naturally look forward to the next. It could be done any day of the year, I know some who do it on or near their birthday each year. Thanks for the comment!

  3. Hi Lee,
    My New years resolutions……To come closer to the Lord. Since joining SCB I have enjoyed some much of “relearning” about God, when I was little I was saved but really didn’t understand that whole meaning. Now,I have learned so much by God working through you and Pastor Chip and my own daughter. Teaching Sunday school is such a blessing, I love it and I am learning a great deal from it. I plan on puttting more faith in God like I shoild of been doing all along and just becoming closer to him, by getting into the word more, reading more about hima nd of course praying more often. and last of all “reshaping “my heart to be more compassionate for others in how I treat people and think about things.
    Thanks for the post!!

    God Bless!!!!

Leave a Reply

