Great Fellowship Meeting Today: Here are my Takeaways!

On the second Monday of every month a large number of BBF Pastors get together to encourage one another and challenge one another. Today was a special meeting because we met in Orlando at Orlando Baptist Church. Pastor Dave Janney hosted a meeting with an emphasis on being passionate about our church, missions, and our country. It was a nice meeting, great fellowship, good food, and some good preaching. Each time I leave a meeting I like to ask myself what things I can take away from this meeting, and use in my own life and ministry. Today, I decided to share them on my blog.

Revisiting the Past

This meeting was a little bit extra special for me because I was saved and baptized at OBC in 1989. It has been many years since then, but many things are very similar. Today I took a few minutes when I got there to walk up to the baptistry and refresh my memory. It was neat to go back and see the altar where I accepted Christ, the place where I was baptized, the cafeteria where I needed help opening up my juice box, and the parking lot that I remember watching the blonde hair of Casey Maddox flow through the wind. It was great to go back to such a special time in my life. I am thankful that Orlando Baptist Church is still a thriving ministry and still passionate about changing the world!

Passionate about Missions

Today we were privileged to hear Don Richardson share his testimony about his ministry to the headhunters and the cannibals of New Guinea. It was a remarkable message that convicted every person about their passion for missions. He shared how he and his wife and their 10 month old son got off the boat in a village and only smiled because they could not even speak the language. They had no clue what would happen. Some of their friends had been killed and eaten in nearby villages, but they were faithful anyway. When they got to the people God had told them to go to, the people had said that they had always been told that one day a white man would come and choose to live with them. Over the process of a long and incredible story, Don translated the New Testament for the Sawi people, and led most of them to Christ. It was an incredible testimony and a challenge to all. Tonight as I was running, the thought that kept running through my mind, is “How long am I going to keep telling God no, when he provides opportunities to witness and share the truth of the gospel.” We must be passionate about missions.

Unity of Purpose

Today at Orlando Baptist Church, I was so impressed with the obvious rally cry of the church. Whether you were looking at the website, or whether you were in the childrens ministry, the theme: “WORLD CHANGERS” was everywhere! When speakers were introduced, they were introduced as world changers, when programs were described, they were described as world changing programs. Even when the gospel was presented, it was presented as the message that will change the world. It was a powerful reminder of the importance of focused passion and singlularity of purpose.

The Last Thing

Today I was reminded of the importance of developing a solid and passionate team. I am so thankful for the team that God has given me to lead Suncoast Youth Group. These leaders are an incredible team and I thank God for them. I want to continue to develop them and lead them to build our influence in the lives of these teenagers. This is my passion! 🙂

Thanks for reading! How have you been challenged to grow recently?

3 thoughts on “Great Fellowship Meeting Today: Here are my Takeaways!

  1. I think it is AWESOME that you have something like this to look forward to every month. I wish there was something similar for ladies. Sometimes living in such a “small” area I feel like us ladies do not have as many opportunities as you men in the ministry. I also think it is AWESOME that you were able to visit your old church and have such a pleasant reflection. I always get teary-eyed when I visit my old church in the Orlando area. As you get older, the good and the bad are perceived much differently than when you are a teen. 

    WOW! I would love to hear Mr. Richardson’s testimony!! I wish I didn’t wait for a missionary to guest speak for me to get on fire. I really want to become more passionate for mission work. I think once I go on a mission trip I won’t need a guest speaker to ignite the flame.

    I know I haven’t done anything yet as a small group leader, but I hope to be an influential part in the teen ministry. Thank you for giving me an opportunity to get my feet wet and for investing in me. I admire your passion. I hope to learn a lot from you. I hope to contribute to a unified purpose with you and alongside you (as well as Katie, Linda, Pastor Chip, and Pastor Patrick). Thank you for being the leader that you are.

    Recently, I have been challenged to grow in my self-control and in my quiet time consistency. I am a busy-bee and I love it, but it (being my schedule) has over powered my self-control and has filled in my quiet time with business time. Doing something for the church or for a ministry does not equate to quiet time with God. Eating junk because I was busy all day at church, practice, meetings, etc does not give me a free pass to lack self-control. Finding a proper balance is often times very hard for me. For the past month (well actually since June) I have been challenged with these things. I would really appreciate your prayers – pray for me to “be still” then “get movin’” in a controlled, kind, pure, and humble manner.

    My story – for His Glory – to be a world changer!
    ~ NR ~

Leave a Reply

